Love and Marriage

My parents aren’t in love anymore. I don’t think they’ve been for a very long time. I remember in high school one of my friends insisted that people never stayed in love, they simply stayed together for convenience and I remember my little hopeless romantic self yelling how that wasn’t true. But I think it might be nowadays, especially with my parents. They are together simply for convenience. My mom has the health insurance and he’s the breadwinner. They don’t talk to each other. When my siblings and I aren’t home, they rarely talk unless it’s about us or bills. It’s sad. They spend their days at work and their evenings watching tv, usually in two different rooms. They only real time they spend together is when they go to sleep. That’s something that I never want for myself if I ever do get married.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

